Who drives your life?

jumper

Are you driving your life or is someone else?

Sometimes it helps to stand back from the fray and take a moment with yourself and ask, who inspired me? And what do I stand for? What are my values? Where am I going? And am I following my dreams?

I think most people develop role-models for themselves when they are facing the world and deciding on a road to follow.

I had several myself. Walt Disney for instance, the creator of modern day animation, was like a god to me when I was a young boy. He was living proof that a man could dream anything and make it happen.

John F. Kennedy, then President of the United States of America inspired me, even as a young boy. He was charismatic and there was truth in the words he spoke.

Richard Bach, author of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, changed my life with that tiny book.

Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon and a role model for pushing the envelope.

Ron Hubbard, a philosopher who could think outside the box and revealed new horizons for human thought.

Over the years, I’ve learned a lot about goals, dreams and what happens when one steps off the road that one wants to follow and instead follows a path that others have said is better or more financially viable or who simply insisted it was right. I learned that following one’s own nose, one’s own stars in the sky, trumps following anyone else’s ideas – for the simple reason that NO one knows your life better than YOU do. NO one, and I do mean NO one, can ever tell you a better way because you are the guy in the driver’s seat and it is up to YOU to make your own way. Others can demonstrate, they can educate, show possibilities, offer new horizons, promote ideas to you, but in the end, ONLY you can put your foot on the right road. If you do, you’ll know it is the RIGHT road for you, but if you do it because someone else said it was right, you will never know for sure if you made the right decision because to some degree you will have signed off ownership for your life to someone else.

Don’t ever think that someone knows better than you do when it comes to YOUR life. Within you exists all the certainty and all the abilitiy to make right decisions and to follow your goals, and certainly no one else could ever dream or live your dreams for you – that has to come from you.

One of my greatest heroes was my 6th grade teacher – a man who lived a humble life, hardly known except amongst the teaching circles of his time, and yet he changed my life because he possessed this undaunted belief in my abilities. No one had done that before – and it rubbed off on me. To the degree that I continued to believe in myself, I succeeded; and I learned, quite painfully, that when I permitted others to convince me otherwise, I failed.  It takes a lot of courage to trust oneself implicitly because the feeling of triumph is great and the sense of failure is all on you.

If there is a brutal side to life it is just this – when you stop believing in yourself, when you start believing that others know better, that others possess a power over your course in life – then you have tossed in the towel and this thing called “life” is going to kick the shit out of you – period! But even then, you will come to realize that there is no “life” – there is you and your decisions and that is the real simplicity of it.

In my motivational talks you will not hear the words “think positively” or other similar words. You will not be told to stand up and clap or say something energizing to the man or woman next to you. You will not hear me speak about how to make millions or becoming rich.

I simply do not believe that is the way to motivate people. I believe that true motivation comes from knowing TRUTH, which is a solid platform on which any man or woman can build.

What you will hear from me as a common denominator is manning-up to life. Confronting the realities of how to navigate a playing field which has been carefully rigged with minefields and the means of making you compromise your goals, your dreams and your integrity.

You will hear about hope, dreams and staying true to YOURSELF.

You will hear about leadership and the measuring stick for how to gauge a person’s value in our groups, companies and nations in a leadership role.

I believe that a person should be singularly responsible for his or her own life; that he or she should not lay the blame for any shortcomings on the doorsteps of their parents, on others or on society; and that he or she should also not slavishly listen to what other people say or think or even what they have been taught to think.

I believe that the true power of an individual comes from within themselves and NOT from outside and that one must stretch the envelope, think outside the box, to really win at this game called life.

And I think we all have it in us to succeed at whatever we want to do in life and that the world would be a far better place if everyone was pursuing their inherent dreams.

And by the way, just for the record so that no one gets the wrong idea, I don’t think for a second that criminality or political tyranny of other people falls into the category of true dreams, because a dream to be considered a dream by definition must come from the depths of the soul of a person, and criminality and dehumanization of others comes from another place altogether.

www.reallaplaine-lectures.com     www.reallaplaine.com

Leave a Reply

